My Muse Monday – 29 June 2015

MMM7

A weekly writing round-up for all of those in the writing trenches.

This is a fun meme where writers can meet other like-minded writers and share what they’ve been working on and how the week has gone for them.

Specifically you can answer all OR any of the following questions:

  • Name of your WIP (Only if you want to disclose)
  • Goals for the week ahead
  • Stats for the previous week – how much did you write or revise, were you happy with it?
  • Biggest challenge that you faced or/and biggest success
  • The biggest thing that surprised you–it may be a plot-bunny (taking your plot in a different direction), an unplanned character, an unplanned location that’s going to take your plot in a different direction… anything!
  • Any helpful tips/tricks you learnt? – feel free to post a link to the article/blog/vlog

Alrighty, this weeks ‘My Muse Monday’…

Name of WIP: Why I exist

Where I am at with it: My laptop wiped everything on my computer, EVERYTHING, luckily (or so I thought) I had saved everything onto my “one drive” which is Microsoft’s version of The Cloud. I work with Scrivener, and for some HORRIFIC reason, my project saved all of my chapters and folders–but there were NO words in them. Not one. So my heart flattened. However, as I write I send my scenes to my amazing alpha reader, critique partner and soul-twin, Diyana, so most of the words I had written were saved (apart from around 700 – could have been worse).  I am nearing my ‘point of no return’ which is around 25% per cent of the novel. I should be there within the next three scenes.

Stats for the Week: Again, not the most productive week for me–my laptop crapping out did not help matters any.  Stats: 1500 words roughly, nearing the 17000 word mark.

Goals for next week: So Camp-Nano Starts this week!! Yay, I am hoping this week I will get roughly 4000 words written. We have friends staying with us all weekend, so I will have to front load my week. Fingers crossed I can reach this goal!

Biggest challenge: This week seemed to be filled with writing challenges, boo. See my Facing Writing Fears – Part 1 for how I’ve been pulling my hair out with my writing a bit lately and some of the reasons that are behind this feeling. However, my biggest success was making my way through a really tough scene and getting to a scene that I LOVED, where the words were flowing freely again.

Helpful tips: I read a really awesome article by Janice Hardy called Five Ways Point of View Can Make You a Better Writer, where Janice gives some really handy tips about how POV is really that essential tool to take your writing to the next level, it is integral for voice, adding an extra dimension to description and helping you to not infodump.

Okay writers, if you feel like it, feel free to leave a url to your blog post telling us all about how your Muse performed this week in your own ‘My Muse Monday‘.

Can’t wait to chat with you all and see your writing progress.

Heart1Stacey signature

Leave a Reply

