My Muse Monday – 6 July 2015

MMM7

A weekly writing round-up for all of those in the writing trenches.

This is a fun meme where writers can meet other like-minded writers and share what they’ve been working on and how the week has gone for them.

Specifically you can answer all OR any of the following questions:

  • Name of your WIP (Only if you want to disclose)
  • Goals for the week ahead
  • Stats for the previous week – how much did you write or revise, were you happy with it?
  • Biggest challenge that you faced or/and biggest success
  • The biggest thing that surprised you–it may be a plot-bunny (taking your plot in a different direction), an unplanned character, an unplanned location that’s going to take your plot in a different direction… anything!
  • Any helpful tips/tricks you learnt? – feel free to post a link to the article/blog/vlog

Alrighty, this weeks ‘My Muse Monday’…

Name of WIP: Why I exist or The Reason Why

Where I am at with it: So Camp Nano started!! Yay. This past week was an interesting one for me, I got over a bad scene and wrote one that I really felt the magic for, it introduced my MC’s love interest, raised a whole lot of questions for the reader and added conflict. Gosh I love writing those scenes. Then I found my ‘magHighlandersical cookie’ for my next scene, and that one flowed from the fingertips too. BUT we had my partner’s friends staying with on Friday and Saturday for the Super Rugby final because our team, the Highlanders, were in it for the first time. EVER. And then we won!! And, that meant no writing for the weekend, but loads of celebrating and not a lot of sleeping. BUT THEY WON. So totally worth it.

Stats for the Week: Again, not as productive as I would’ve liked, but given that I only wrote on two nights, I’m happy with it. Stats: 2000 words roughly, around the 19000 word mark.

Goals for next week: Okay, I really need to amp my writing up for Camp Nano!! Or else I will fall massively behind eek. We have my partners parents up Thursday/Friday, but hoping to cram heaps in on the weekend and the days leading up till then. Goal 7000 words, hopefully doable, got to aim high.

Biggest challenge: This week was finding time, it was impossible on the weekend. However, my biggest success was getting to write about my MC’s (Spero’s) love interest (Aquila) – I am just going to say their names from here on out. And it was electric. Conflict. Stakes. And so many questions. I can’t wait for them to have more scenes together, unfortunately that will be a few scenes away, but there are a lot of juicy scenes to write before I get to reunite them, which will be fun.

Helpful tips: This article sets out clearly what the stakes of your character are and what the common pitfalls with stakes can be, it’s quite an interesting read: Most Common Writing Mistakes 42: When your story stakes aren’t high enough by K M Weiland.

Okay writers, if you feel like it, feel free to leave a url to your blog post telling us all about how your Muse performed this week in your own ‘My Muse Monday‘.

Can’t wait to chat with you all and see your writing progress.

Heart1Stacey signature

Leave a Reply

